Amanda & Jill Dean Direct Support Award 2021 Nominations Are Open

The Amanda and Jill Dean Direct Support Award was created to recognize an exceptional employee in the Direct Support professional field at The Arc of Howard County. This award is presented annually and includes a $1,000 cash gift to the recipient. Employees eligible for this award can be any staff (DSP’s, DSM’s, and/or Employment Specialists) directly engaged in the day to day support of our individuals at The Arc of Howard County. Employees who are nominated must be in good standing with the agency and must have worked at least one year for The Arc of Howard County. Any employee of The Arc of Howard County can submit a nomination. All nominations will be evaluated and assessed for eligibility.
  All nominations must be submitted no later than August 30, 2021. Please send nominations to The recipient will be announced at the beginning of Direct Support Professional Week in September.
They will be recognized during Direct Support Professional Week, which is September 12 – September 18, 2021
The nomination form is attached. If you would like any assistance with writing this nomination, or if you have any questions, please contact the Resource Department.
Thank you for all you do each and every day!
Image links to the Dean Award Nomination PDF

Congratulations to the 2021 Celebration of Excellence Award Winners!

Image shows the winners of the 2021 Celebration of Excellence Award

2021 Celebration of Excellence and 60th Year Celebration

The Arc of Howard County’s 2021 Celebration of Excellence was held virtually on May 12, 2021. Congratulations to all of our award winners for making a difference in the lives of people with disabilities!

  • Self-Advocate of the Year: Jeffrey Jones, Carlotta Martin, and Janice Martin
  • Excellence in Employment: Robert Walker, Natalie Dohner, and Vytex Windows
  • Excellence in Professional Services: ALFA Specialty Pharmacy
  • Excellence in Community: FEED HOWARD COUNTY
  • Excellence in Public Service: Senator Clarence Lam and Delegate Eric Ebersole
  • Volunteer of the Year: Matt Hart and Sarah Wheedleton
  • The Amanda & Jill Dean Direct Support Professional Award: Annie Caldwell
  • President’s Award: Richard Dean
  • Employee of the Year: All of Arc of Howard County DSPs
  • COVID-19 Heroes of the Year: Deborah Wagner and Naomi Lyvers